Oscar night 2024! Highlights and winners: Jimmy Kimmel, illy Eilish, John Cena & Co.

Oskar Night 2024 – 2 days too late – sorry! There was a lot going on, but now, the must-have event, Oskar Night. Who was there? What’s important? Plus a look at the outfits! Here is my review of the 5 highlights: Jimmy Kimmel, illy Eilish, John Cena & Co. let’s go!

Jimmy Kimmel as host: Witty, quick-witted and up-to-date

The 96th Academy Awards were hosted by Jimmy Kimmel for the fourth time. Kimmel opened the event with a humorous introduction and made reference to current events, nominees and the film industry.

Here you can see Jimmy Kimmel’s opening speech of the Oscar night.

Emotional acceptance speeches and touching performances

The winners of the coveted trophies gave moving acceptance speeches, while the nominees for Best Original Song performed their songs live on stage. The performances by Billy Eilish and Ryan Gosling were particularly noteworthy.

Standing ovations and red carpet with Billy:

Surprises and entertainment: from nude performances to the stunt community tribute

The Oscar night not only offered high-caliber winners, but also unexpected moments of entertainment. John Cena caused a stir when he ran naked across the stage to present an award. Emily Blunt and Ryan Gosling honored the stunt community and joked about the rivalry between filmmakers.

John Cena Naked!

Big winners and important films: A tribute to the best

The evening’s winners, including Robert Downey Jr, Christopher Nolan, Emma Stone and Killian Murphy, were honored for their outstanding performances.Oppenheimer” in particular proved to be the big winner of the evening, both in the acting and directing categories.

The big winner! Oppenheimer

List of winners

Here is the latest list of winners (source: Hollywoodreporter)

Best movie

American Fiction (Ben LeClair, Nikos Karamigios, Cord Jefferson and Jermaine Johnson, producers) Anatomy of a Case (Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion, producers) Barbie (David Heyman, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley and Robbie Brenner, producers) The Remnant (Mark Johnson, producer) Killers of the Flower Moon (Dan Friedkin, Bradley Thomas, Martin Scorsese and Daniel Lupi, Producers) Maestro (Bradley Cooper, Steven Spielberg, Fred Berner, Amy Durning and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers) Oppenheimer (Emma Thomas, Charles Roven and Christopher Nolan, Producers) (WINNER) Past Lives (David Hinojosa, Christine Vachon and Pamela Koffler, Producers) Poor Things (Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Yorgos Lanthimos and Emma Stone, Producers) The Zone of Interest (James Wilson, Producer)

Best Director

Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Case) Martin Scorsese (Killers of the Flower Moon) Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer) (WINNER) Yorgos Lanthimos (Poor Things) Jonathan Glazer (The Zone of Interest)

Best Leading Actor

Bradley Cooper (Maestro) Colman Domingo (Rustin) Paul Giamatti (The Remnant) Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer) (WINNER) Jeffrey Wright (American Fiction)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening (Nyad) Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon) Sandra Hüller (Anatomy of a Case) Carey Mulligan (Maestro) Emma Stone (Poor Things) (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actor

Sterling K. Brown (American Fiction) Robert De Niro (Killers of the Flower Moon) Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer) (WINNER) Ryan Gosling (Barbie) Mark Ruffalo (Poor Things)

Best Supporting Actress

Emily Blunt (Oppenheimer) Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple) America Ferrera (Barbie) Jodie Foster (Nyad) Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Leftovers) (WINNER)

Best Adapted Screenplay

American Fiction (For screenplay by Cord Jefferson) (WINNER) Barbie (Written by Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach) Oppenheimer (For screenplay by Christopher Nolan) Poor Things (Screenplay by Tony McNamara) The Zone of Interest (Written by Jonathan Glazer)

Best Original Screenplay

Anatomy of a Case (Screenplay by Justine Triet and Arthur Harari) (WINNER) The Remnant (Written by David Hemingson) Maestro (Written by Bradley Cooper & Josh Singer) May December (Screenplay by Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch & Alex Mechanik) Past Lives (Written by Celine Song)

Best animated feature film

The Boy and the Heron (Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki) (WINNER) Elemental (Peter Sohn and Denise Ream) Nimona (Nick Bruno, Troy Quane, Karen Ryan and Julie Zackary) Robot Dreams (Pablo Berger, Ibon Cormenzana, Ignasi Estapé and Sandra Tapia Díaz) Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Kemp Powers, Justin K. Thompson, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Amy Pascal)

Best Documentary Film

Bobi Wine: The People’s President (Moses Bwayo, Christopher Sharp and John Battsek) The Eternal Memory (Maite Alberdi) Four Daughters (Kaouther Ben Hania and Nadim Cheikhrouha) To Kill a Tiger (Nisha Pahuja, Cornelia Principe and David Oppenheim) 20 Days in Mariupol (Mstyslav Chernov, Michelle Mizner and Raney Aronson-Rath) (WINNER)

Best International Feature Film

I Captain (Italy) Perfect Days (Japan) Society of Snow (Spain) The Teachers’ Lounge (Germany) The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom) (WINNER)

Best animated short film

Letter to a Pig (Tal Kantor and Amit R. Gicelter) Ninety-Five Senses (Jerusha Hess and Jared Hess) Our Uniform (Yegane Moghaddam) Pachyderm (Stéphanie Clément and Marc Rius) The War is Over! Inspired by the music of John & Yoko (Dave Mullins and Brad Booker) (WINNER)

Best Short Feature Film

The Aftermath (Misan Harriman and Nicky Bentham) Invincible (Vincent René-Lortie and Samuel Caron) Knights of Fortune (Lasse Lyskjaer Noer and Christian Norlyk) Red, White and Blue (Nazrin Choudhury and Sara McFarlane) The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar (Wes Anderson and Steven Rales) (WINNER)

Best Documentary Short Film

The ABCs of Book Banning (Sheila Nevins and Trish Adlesic) The Barber of Little Rock (John Hoffman and Christine Turner) Island in the Middle (S. Leo Chiang and Jean Tsien) The Last Workshop (Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers) (WINNER) Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó (Sean Wang and Sam Davis)

Best camera work

El Conde (Edward Lachman) Killers of the Flower Moon (Rodrigo Prieto) Maestro (Matthew Libatique) Oppenheimer (Hoyte van Hoytema) (WINNER) Poor Things (Robbie Ryan)

Best Costume Design

Barbie (Jacqueline Durran) Killers of the Flower Moon (Jacqueline West) Napoleon (Janty Yates and Dave Crossman) Oppenheimer (Ellen Mirojnick) Poor Things (Holly Waddington) (WINNER)

Best make-up and hairstyling

Golda (Karen Hartley Thomas, Suzi Battersby and Ashra Kelly-Blue) Maestro (Kazu Hiro, Kay Georgiou and Lori McCoy-Bell) Oppenheimer (Luisa Abel) Poor Things (Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston) (WINNER)

An unforgettable evening in the movie world

Oscar Night 2024 was a celebration of the art of film that shone with emotional acceptance speeches, impressive performances and high-caliber winners. Jimmy Kimmel hosted the evening with wit and quick wit, while the films and their makers were duly celebrated. The memories of an unforgettable evening in the world of film will last until next year.